Our goal: sustainable PET recycling

Icon

For every dropz product sold, we collect one ocean-bound plastic bottle and ensure its recycling.

dropz, the real alternative to PET and soft drinks, is committed to sustainable production methods, which is why we are particularly committed to PET recycling. With every package of dropz we support the Foundation GoReclaim with the goal of opening up a sustainable and transparent PET value chain.

What does that mean exactly?

In collaboration with the GoReclaim Foundation and the local collection point rePATRN, 150,000 bottles (approx. 5 tons) of so-called Ocean Bound Plastic have already been collected in the name of dropz between January and September 2021 in around the Atlantic coast of Accra and fed into the recycling process.

More than 500 billion new plastic bottles are produced every year

Currently, only 10% of plastic waste is incinerated to produce energy from it. If plastic is not incinerated, it will not degrade. More than 500 billion new plastic bottles are produced every year.

PET recycling in Ghana is not organized by the state; private collectors climb the garbage dumps and sell the plastic at collection points such as rePATRN. As a result, most collectors are denied access to the formal economy and national health insurance. This is exactly what GoReclaim wants to change and we at dropz are happy to help.

GoReclaim

«dropz and GoReclaim both want to prevent plastic from finding its way into the oceans. Together we can create a real impact. Experience as a processor has shown me that informal workers get a raw deal. They have tremendous potential but the low value added in the country goes hand in hand with low appreciation and prevents the realization of their potential. That is the first thing we want to change with GoReclaim.»

ZAFAR HASHER, Founder dropz

8 million tons of plastic are in our oceans today. Without counteraction, this weight will exceed that of fish by 2050.

8 million tons of plastic in the sea

Currently, only 10% of plastic waste is incinerated to produce energy from it. If plastic is not incinerated, it will not degrade.

Over 500 billion new plastic bottles are produced every year

With the dropz bottle "Blue Ocean Edition" you also support our "Ocean Clean Up" project, where one kilogram of ocean-bound plastic is collected and processed for recycling.

Order now

Use this banner to greet your customers and inform them about new collections, sales or shipping policies.

Unser Ziel: Nachhaltiges PET-Recycling

Icon

Für jedes verkaufte dropz Produkt sammeln wir eine ozean-gebundene Plastikflasche und stellen deren Recycling sicher.

dropz, die echte Alternative zu PET und Softdrinks, setzt sich für eine nachhaltige Produktion ein. Deshalb engagieren wir uns besonders für das PET-Recycling. Mit jeder Tüte dropz unterstützen wir die GoReclaim Foundation mit dem Ziel, eine nachhaltige und transparente PET-Wertschöpfungskette zu entwickeln.

Was bedeutet das?

In Zusammenarbeit mit der GoReclaim Foundation und der lokalen Sammelstelle rePATRN wurden bereits zwischen Januar und September 2021 rund um die Atlantikküste von Accra 150.000 Flaschen (ca. 5 Tonnen) sogenanntes "Ocean Bound"-Plastik im Auftrag von dropz gesammelt und in den Recyclingprozess integriert.

Jährlich werden mehr als 500 Milliarden neue Plastikflaschen produziert

Derzeit werden nur 10% der Kunststoffabfälle zur Energiegewinnung verbrannt. Wenn Kunststoff nicht verbrannt wird, wird er auch nicht abgebaut. Jährlich werden mehr als 500 Milliarden neue Plastikflaschen produziert

In Ghana wird das PET-Recycling nicht vom Staat organisiert. Private Sammler klettern auf die Müllhalden und verkaufen das Plastik an Sammelstellen wie rePATRN. Infolgedessen ist den meisten Sammlern der Zugang zur formellen Wirtschaft und zur staatlichen Krankenversicherung verwehrt. Genau das will GoReclaim ändern und wir von dropz helfen gerne dabei.

GoReclaim

«dropz und GoReclaim wollen beide verhindern, dass Plastik in den Ozeanen landet. Gemeinsam können wir wirklich etwas bewirken. Meine Erfahrung als Verarbeiter hat mir gezeigt, dass die informell Beschäftigten zu kurz kommen. Sie haben ein enormes Potenzial, aber die geringe Wertschöpfung im Land geht Hand in Hand mit einer geringen Wertschätzung und verhindert, dass ihr Potenzial ausgeschöpft wird. Das ist das erste, was wir mit GoReclaim ändern wollen.»

Jeffrey Provencal - Founder GoReclaim

Derzeit befinden sich 8 Millionen Tonnen Plastik in unseren Ozeanen. Ohne Gegenmassnahmen wird dieses Gewicht bis 2050 das der Fische übersteigen.

8 Millionen Tonnen Plastik im Ozean

Derzeit werden nur 10% der Kunststoffabfälle zur Energiegewinnung verbrannt. Wenn Kunststoff nicht verbrannt wird, wird er auch nicht abgebaut.

Jedes Jahr werden mehr als 500 Milliarden neue Plastikflaschen produziert.

Mit der Ocean Blue Edition-Flasche unterstützen Sie auch unser Ocean Clean Up-Projekt, bei dem ein Kilogramm ozean-gebundener Plastik gesammelt wird, bevor er wieder ins Meer geworfen und zum Recycling aufbereitet wird.

Jetzt Bestellen

Utilisez cette bannière pour accueillir vos clients et les informer des nouvelles collections, des ventes ou des politiques d'expédition.